Galentine’s Day

galentines3

I am not sure how many of you out there know me, but my favorite TV series of all time hands down would be parks and recreation and I am not a huge fan of Valentine’s day.

I won’t get into the second part of the sentence because I am here to talk about Parks and Rec.

The main character of the show, Leslie Knope, is my inner soul. I love binders and organizing files, creating scrap books of sorts, I love my friends, have cheesy sayings to profess my love, I am GREAT at gift giving, and I love breakfast foods. On a side note, my fiance’s inner soul is Ron Swanson, that’s why I think we work so well together. On another side note, one time during a super awkward counseling session I was at, I chose Leslie to be a part of my “group”. The therapist desperately wanted me to pick celebrities that would be “in my circle routing me on”.

If you were to look at a Leslie Knope holiday calendar it would be filled with holidays every week, holidays like anniversaries of the first time Ann and I ate waffles together, first time I finished watching Friday Night Lights, the first time I met madam secretary of state, and first time I finished my first government project. anns-holidays

No holidays are ever repeated over the course of the TV series, of course with the exception of a few. The one, in particular, I personally celebrate is Galentine’s day. This day is celebrated February 13th, the day before Valentine’s day. What is Galentine’s day you ask, well “It’s only the best day of the year!”

tumblr_n0wcbmyieh1tpga0qo1_250

This day, in Leslie’s world, starts out with brunch with her best lady friends. “Every February 13th, my lady friends and I leave out husbands and our boyfriends at home, and we just come and kick it, breakfast-style. Ladies celebrating ladies. It’s like Lilith Fair, minus the angst. Plus frittatas.”

This would be a perfect time to note Leslie’s three most important things in life:

enhanced-buzz-19496-1441899509-5

Now that you have an understanding of what Galentine’s day is to Leslie, let me share with you what this day is to me.

In this day and age, there is so much on social media about having the cutest picture or showing off the date that you just went on with your significant other. Also when people think about a support system, they assume there is your family and your significant other. But, some of my strongest support people are people other than my fiancé and family.

enhanced-buzz-29640-1442018980-10

These women in my life are the strongest people I know. It is important to hear from more than one person, and your family, (because they HAVE to tell you these things) that you are beautiful, strong, smart, etc.

enhanced-buzz-22982-1442018498-5

Below I have listed some of my favorite Leslie Knope quotes that she shares with her best friend, along with some of the strongest and most beautiful women in my life – those who I am celebrating each and every Galentine’s day.

Now really quick before you get lost in the strong women in my life, go google Leslie Knope quotes, get inspired, watch season 2 episode 10 (my favorite episode of all time). Of course these are in no particular order.

Ann, you poetic and noble land mermaid.

 

snapchat-5505456967553645042
This is to show off my sister, Becca, an aspiring police officer

 

My sister is so sweet and kind hearted. She likes sparkly jeans and makeup, not sure where she got that from. She is going to great things in this world.

Ann, you’re such a good friend. You are a beautiful, talented, brilliant, powerful musk ox.

 

download_20160604_175957
Shout out to one of the other writers of this blog, my best friend Kasey.

 

My lady friend, traveling far away to chase her dreams. She doesn’t let anything stand in her way.

Oh Ann Perkins, you perfect sunflower.

 

13308705_10209448712197218_682443617357498646_o
My undergraduate advisor and mentor, Sharon.

 

 

Sharon, your laugh is everlasting and your hugs are just as good as moms. She has pushed me to learn more and be a better scientist. I wouldn’t be where I am without her.

You’re thoughtful and you’re brilliant. And your ambiguous ethnic blend perfectly represents the dream of the American melting pot.

 

11289510_10206112591309739_7032088227130033323_o
Can’t forget about my other best friend, Leah

 

Oh, Leah, she makes me want to be a better person. I have never been more proud of who you are becoming.

You are the most beautiful glowing sun goddess, ever.

 

1653957_10204564973860270_5578406367568913828_n
My mother

She has waited years and years to find her place and has finally found it and is happy. The best things have come to my mom who has waited for as long as I can remember, always putting her kids first.

 

Until next time,

tote-4Megan

Leave a Reply

